Thinking about restoring an old boat.

drhunter1

When driving around I sometimes see old hulls on people’s properties and I thought to myself, if I could get them to let me have that old hill to get it off their property I could take it home and work on it and restore it.

I could make into an outboard driven fishing boat. Put a deck on it and what not.

I’ve never done it before but I bet I could watch enough YouTube videos to put one together over time. Have minimal costs and make it the way I want it.

Thoughts?

Look @ some restorations on youtube or other sites. Depending on the condition of the boat you might be replacing stringers and the transom along with the decks. Can get expensive and depending how handy you are, take months or even years. Good luck.

specialk

When driving around I sometimes see old hulls on people’s properties and I thought to myself, if I could get them to let me have that old hill to get it off their property I could take it home and work on it and restore it.

I could make into an outboard driven fishing boat. Put a deck on it and what not.

I’ve never done it before but I bet I could watch enough YouTube videos to put one together over time. Have minimal costs and make it the way I want it.

Thoughts?
@bilgerat might be able to give advice on anything boat related, i believe he was born on a boat....lol....

drhunter1

Look @ some restorations on youtube or other sites. Depending on the condition of the boat you might be replacing stringers and the transom along with the decks. Can get expensive and depending how handy you are, take months or even years. Good luck.
I can work on it on my spare time and really just pick away at it.

antharper

“Well Rounded Outdoorsman MOD “
Staff member
Sounds like a great idea , and there’s plenty to be had .

bilgerat

Senior