WMAs, NFs And Other Public Land That Is Not "Quota"

Big7

The Oracle
I'm new to trying to hunt "public land" and the reg book is pretty confusing.

Looking for WMAs and National Forest land to hunt in Georgia, preferably with a primitive campground that's not quota. In other words, just show up with a valid license and hunt.

I'm not looking for anyone's spot just the names of some WMAs and NFs to hunt.

Thanks In Advance. :cheers:

Last edited:

ChidJ

Use these two things to figure it out (click the link to open the map in a new tab. its much more user friendly than in the window). When you go to a WMA, you need to check in. You can do it online, in the app, or with a pen at the kiosk which you can find on the linked map for wherever you are intending to go.

Find your prospective hunt area in the regulations and it will have the dates there that you can hunt.

I'll use the Alapaha WMA as its the first on alphabetically for an example. If you want to hunt deer by archery, you can do so between Sep 9 and Oct 22 and all you need to do is check in once.

Hope this helps.

RamblinWreck88

Useles Billy ain’t got nothing on ME !
1. Look up your WMA
2. Look for this "Q" which is for "Quota Hunt"
3. If there ain't no "Q," then there ain't no quota hunt.
4. If there is a "Q," then the quota hunt dates will be listed.Screenshot_20230922_190749_Samsung Notes.jpgScreenshot_20230922_191046_Samsung Notes.jpg

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230922_190749_Samsung Notes.jpg
    Screenshot_20230922_190749_Samsung Notes.jpg
    117.8 KB · Views: 2

Big7

The Oracle
What part of the state?
Prefer south of Athens and north of Macon but I will go south if there is camping on the property or nearby.

Don't care much for the mountains, not for hunting anyway.
Thanks

Milkman

Deer Farmer Moderator
Staff member
Contact or drive to the Oconee National Forest office on 441/129 just south of the Rock Eagle main entrance. They can point you to many thousands of acres of hunting and camping.