Battery charger

Cituan Rats

I just installed a Pro Mariner three bank battery charger on my boat and seems to be operating as expected. My question is do you leave it plugged in 24/7 year round or just plug it in a couple days before I plan on going fishing? Thanks.

I am no expert just what I have read and experienced with mine. The digital chargers are designed to keep the batteries charged and maintain. They have built in protection circuits to prevent over charging. You certainly do not want your batteries to go down and stay down it damages them

BoosterC

If the batteries are lead acid. Yes, I leave it plugged in unless there are expected thunderstorms. If it is going to be 6 mos or more, I'd unplug them just to have one less potential mishap. Be sure to check the water levels about evey 6 mos.

Lithiums...NO do not leave them active on the charger. Long term storage Lithiums behave and store best at about 50% or less charge.

Ajohnson0587

I leave mine plugged in year round, for the last 2yrs I have owned a boat. I'm running 2 Dakota lithium's & and a ProGuide AGM cranking battery for the motor, no issues, but I am a year round fisherman. I ran Dakota Lithium's in my Kayak for 3yrs before that and never had an issue, best thing to do is read up on what the battery manufacture recommends for a charger. Also, I'd imagine that most quality batteries would be fine being left plugged up, as long as they are seeing regular use. If you're leaving it plugged up for a sold yr or more without use, it can't be good for anything on a boat let alone the batteries.

ecoutside

Bringing this back up! I’m in the market for an On-Board charger. Question is do you guys leave your trolling motor hooked up while charging?

I’ve got a 12V powerdrive ipilot with the leads hooked directly to the battery. I currently unhook the leads to charge with a portable 6 amp charger. Might just save my money if I still need to unhook my leads from the battery? What say you @Dustin Pate