CFE Pistol powder

Adam5

I have two unopened pounds of CFE Pistol, and I’m thinking of using some this week. I’m still learning, and just haven’t used this powder yet. I hear that it’s clean burning and is versatile. There are three loads that I’m looking at doing with it.

9mm 147gr Berry’s plated RN over 3.8gr
.45acp 230gr Hornady XTP over 6.7gr
.45acp 200gr Speer LSWC over 7.8gr

Has anyone used similar loads with CFE Pistol? What were your experiences with it?

Ray357

AWOL
I have two unopened pounds of CFE Pistol, and I’m thinking of using some this week. I’m still learning, and just haven’t used this powder yet. I hear that it’s clean burning and is versatile. There are three loads that I’m looking at doing with it.

9mm 147gr Berry’s plated RN over 3.8gr
.45acp 230gr Hornady XTP over 6.7gr
.45acp 200gr Speer LSWC over 7.8gr

Has anyone used similar loads with CFE Pistol? What were your experiences with it?
I have loaded 9mm +p+ and hot 40 SW loads with it. It's good powder. The hotter you run it, the cleaner it gets. It does leave a pretty good amount of carbon, but not enough to be a problem.

chuckdog

It meters well and as posted above works best in upper mid and higher velocity applications.

For me it will never replace Universal or Unique for target velocity stuff. That's not its market. If you're looking for a "do all" powder with a bit higher octane it will likely suit your needs.

It has earned a permanent place on my shelf.

Reactions: Dub

bullgator

I‘m a big fan of CFE Pistol. I’ve used 7.5 gr with a 200 coated LSWC myself.

RFWobbly

I have two unopened pounds of CFE Pistol, and I’m thinking of using some this week. I’m still learning, and just haven’t used this powder yet. I hear that it’s clean burning and is versatile.