Firearm purchase

JR924

Is it legal to get money to buy a firearm for a bed ridden invalid who cannot go to the gun store? The person with the money then buys the gun, uses it and keeps it. Gun belongs to the purchaser. If invalid dies, the gun still belongs to the purchaser. If the invalid gets well and can travel, the purchaser sell the gun, if he wants to, to the invalid for a nominal fee thru a FFL transfer. Assume the invalid is legal to own a firearm but cannot out of bed to pick them up. I am assuming this is not a straw puirchase if the invalid cannot use or own the firearm till a FFL transfer.

deerslayer357

I am Not a lawyer but I would view it as me buying a gun for myself, with a possible private party sale at a later date to the invalid if they recover. Assuming they are not prohibited I don’t see why this would be illegal, as long as the gun was bought with your money and not theirs.

Maybe some of the forum lawyers will chime in….

jrickman

I'm not a lawyer, but it seems to me like you could just take the money from the person, go buy the gun and call it a day. If they get better, sell it to them for a dollar privately with no FFL involved.

ryanh487

there is no gun registration in GA. the 4473 asks if you are the actual buyer of the firearm. if you give them the money, you go through the background check, and you will posess the firearm, you are not lying by saying yes on the form.

It's only illegal if you are knowingly buying a gun to give/sell to someone who is not legally allowed to purchase or own a firearm.

JR924