T/C Contender Questions and Others

Hey handgun hunters, it's my first year that I'm going to try to jump into this.

Picture of the Set Up :

downsize7.jpg

Picked her up locally for a good price and had the Bushnell Elite 3200 at the house - figured it was a good fit. Chambered in 44magnum, in case anyone is curious.

First off - can anyone tell me more about my gun in particular? I know it's a Contender - but is there anything more specific?

Also, how many barrels (aftermarket or from TC) are made for this pistol and where can they be purchased? And I'd assume barrels from the G2 Contender and the Encore should also fit up to it?

Anywho - if anyone feels like answering those questions, great, if not - just like to see who all hunts with a little Contender!

Bonus picture

Picture003-3.jpg

I was going to put the Bushnell on here, but just couldn't make myself do it. She's too pretty the way she sits.

Last edited:

Eddy M.

GONetwork Member
So Encore no = Contender.

How many Contender barrels are there...exactly?

Please excuse my ignorance guys, I don't know the first thing about these things and I'm reading as I'm typing this out

Eddy M.

GONetwork Member
the two guns just look similar the Encore is bigger,heavier shoots more powerful rounds-- ( the ones in my photo are Encores)-- how many different calibers --- who knows some custom shops will make you what you want as long as it is safe to chamber in a contender -- look at the EAB link for the most popular ones

TTom

20 or so standard calibres, and all sorts of custom options available for the G1 and a few more for the G2.

Most round G 1 barrels will fit G2 frames , but G2 barrels will not fit the G1 frame.

TTom

I'm not an expert on identifying them , but it looks like a G1 to me.

I believe the G2 does not have the cougar

3 generations of G1's and telling them apart is a matter of how the shift from center to rimfire is done.

You can find tons of information online about how to tell the difference.