What are the best ways to catch trout on the chattahoochee?

Bsurber

I’m somewhat new to fly fishing and I can never seem to find the fish when I’m out on the hooch. If anyone has any good tips or tricks that can help me to start catching fish that would be greatly appreciated.

Coenen

Get out.

Start small. Think small. Fish small.

On the tailwater below Buford, I do a lot of dry-dropper and indicator nymphing. My go to is a tandem nymph setup featuring a heavy first fly like a wire caddis, or stone-fly imitation, and then a smaller dropper fly, like a rainbow warrior or zebra midge. Adjust the length between indicator and flies until you're getting down to the bottom, but not snagging regularly.

Consider hitting a shop like Alpharetta Outfitters or Fish Hawk for flies and advice. They'll help you.

Find some good looking water, look for fast water that turns into slow water. Get close enough to make a GOOD presentation. Start picking at the run. Hit every seam from closest to furthest with the best presentation you can muster. If your indicator does anything it shouldn't, swing away. If you catch a fish make additional casts, if there is one, there are frequently more.

You'll get a few.

I've seen more empty cans of corn along that river than full cans in Walmart!

I don't use corn. I wade the river and get all the lures from the trees and use them. They work great! I can easily get a dozen in a few minutes.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
To Hades with corn. I don't understand it. I can fish behind a corn fisherman with flies or spinners and catch 10x as many trout with 100x less aggravation.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
I’m somewhat new to fly fishing and I can never seem to find the fish when I’m out on the hooch. If anyone has any good tips or tricks that can help me to start catching fish that would be greatly appreciated.