Calling

deerhunter270

I am a beginner at turkey hunting. I really don't know what calls to make, when, how long, and how often. I have been turkey hunting for 3 years now and haven't got anything yet. I have just been going out in the woods and doing the calls that I think sound good. Could you give me any tips or pointers to point me in the right direction. Thanks

Russell :)

Al33

Well Russell,

there are many others on here better qualified to answer your question, but since no one has responded as yet, I'll give you my take.

Your calling techniques should vary based on the circumstances and the time of the season. I might be real aggressive with my calling early in the season but usually this time of year I call sparingly and softer. If you have a hen answering your calling, an aggressive calling series would likely be in order.

There have been many books written about how to call turkies so I will certainly not do your question justice in this short post, however, for the remainder of this season, I would suggest using only light yelps, purrs, and clucks and do it sparingly. Let the tom dictate how you should call if at all. Towards the end of the season, if you get a tom to gobble to your calling, you might do well to shut up and let him come looking for you. Trust me, even if he heard you from a few hundred yards away, he will know where you are at and you will not need to remind him. With the hens going to nest, you stand a good chance of scoring, though the gobbling activity might not be much. Oh yeah, one more thing, "patience". I'm confident I will get an Amen from the other turkey hunters on this point at least. :bounce:

Good luck young man, go kill a tom and show us the pic's.

Last edited:

bull0ne

Banned
I can't cover it all here, if you can't go hunting with a seasoned hunter go to www.amazon.com and buy Mike Hanback's book Spring gobbler fever, it will put you 10-15 years ahead in just a few nights reading.