Shotgun opinions

antharper

“Well Rounded Outdoorsman MOD “
Staff member
I’ve been shooting a Winchester 1300 for about 29 years I think , I got it for my 15th birthday and it killed its first gobbler that spring , if the good lord is willing I hope it’s killing them 29 years from now, my dad is a Mossberg shooter and loves it

DRBugman85

I've got all 3 of the B,s and my go to turkey killing Shotgun is a 48 year old Wingmaster 870 special purpose 24 inch barrel (3 inch chamber) with a KICKS GT .660 & Longbeard #6 and it hammers heads. The Browning A5 kicks like a mule 30 inch Full fixed choke , the Benelli is to long of a barrel 28 inch, Sold the Beretta always had ejection problems. WINGMASTERS are expensive but so worth the dependability and craftsmanship.Just my opinion.

Timber1

BANNED
If you like getting your eyes crossed and the fillings in your teeth knocked loose everytime you pull the trigger then the 835 is your gun.
Think I’m going to go for a Mossberg and just see. I shoot a lot of different loads and chokes patterning. Just for fun and I think that’s why I’ve had problems with them all , I guess so many heavy turkey loads it takes a toll on them
Shooting a 3.5" turkey load out of an 835 is not my idea of fun.

Jack Ryan

I wouldn't take a fortune for my old Mossy 500. When all those fancy ones are fell apart, it'll still be shooting. Most reliable, plain old functional shotgun on the planet.
Good to hear you are happy with it.

I figured there must be someone some where who liked 'em.

KentuckyHeadhunter

Love my 835 ulti mag. We used Mossbergs in the Marines and beat the heck out of em. They always worked. I have 3. Now using Carlson's LB choke shooting LB #6's.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
Good to hear you are happy with it.

I figured there must be someone some where who liked 'em.
Im not a snob. I go for function. I don't buy Zeiss scopes or Weatherby rifles, either.

Preacher56