Climber stand don'ts

Waddams

Anyone want to share thoughts on things to NOT do while using a climber? I'm just starting out with them. So far, I've got:

• Use a safety harness and tether to the tree.
  • Always make sure the foot section is tethered to top/seat section. (had meant to include this originally, it's added as an edit)
  • Don't drink and climb.
  • Good trees - use softer bark trees (pine, others?), don't use hard/thin bark trees (types?)
  • Have a stepping strap, if you find yourself dangling, you can step up in the strap and take the pressure off yourself.
  • bring a lifting rope, don't climb with a pack or your weapon.
  • Use a safety harness.
  • Tree size? Any guidelines on good tree sizes? Too big? Too small?
  • Angles of the climber/platform on tree? How tight at the bottom when you put it on? Any advise? Seems that if it slopes down it wouldn't bite as well into the tree.
  • Use a safety harness.
  • One problem I've had practicing - my foot platform has wobbled a few times. Have to be careful with weight distribution. Any advise for how to deal with this?
  • Another problem - I've got a tree lounge with the archery platform. While I might invest in something like a Summit Viper soon, at the moment, it's very unbalanced and lifting the top the section, going up and down, it's pretty weighty towards the end. Makes it awkward to handle. Any advise? I grip it farther back towards a better balance point but it's still a bit ackward, can only go so far back.
  • Another problem - I can go up okay. Going down is more challenging. Any advise?
Well, there's a lot of do's there, but are there other don'ts anyone can advise?

Last edited:

1eyefishing

...just joking, seriously.
No offense, but my 1st point of advice is against the use of a tree lounge. Especially the archery platform. It stands you up a considerable distance from the tree trunk.