All Wheel Drive pros or cons

Jeetdawg

I figured some of you guys have had experience with AWD vehicles and wanted to hear pros and cons of it. I have zero experience with one as my vehicles were either FWD or RWD. My wife is looking to downsize and the options are AWD or RWD. My inclination was to go with RWD as that’s what I know, but I wanted some real world experience, specifically longevity/maintenance issues I would be unaware of having never owned one. Thanks in advance for any wisdom you throw my way.

oops1

Buzzard Expert
My wife’s current car is awd. It was our first and I was worried about poor mileage and extra maint. No issues so far 130,000 miles and it gets great mileage.

Mars

My wife has a subaru and they are all wheel drive. This had been my first experience with an awd vehicle but we have no complaints after 50K miles. 50K is relatively low miles for a longevity test but we haven't had any issues yet.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
My wife has an AWD vehicle. I have a 4WD vehicle. There is no comparison when you need to get somewhere in a foot of snow, or through a bunch of mud. But I would take the vastly inferior AWD over the 2WD any day. Especially if you live somewhere where there is any snow or ice, ever.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
My wife has a subaru and they are all wheel drive. This had been my first experience with an awd vehicle but we have no complaints after 50K miles. 50K is relatively low miles for a longevity test but we haven't had any issues yet.
When I was driving into work Sunday morning in a blizzard, I lost count of the Subarus spun out, stuck, and slid off into the ditches and abandoned on the side of the road. No comparison to actual 4wd. But still much better than 2wd. My wife has a Nissan Rogue AWD. It's nothing like my 4wd truck, but much better in snow than a car. I feel much better about her being out in an AWD when it's slick than when she had a 2wd car. It's worth the extra money.