Anybody hunt with an older bow?

duck-dawg

I was given an older (maybe 90's) model Browing compound bow this past spring, and had considered taking up bow hunting with it. Off the top of my head, I can't remember any of the specifics about it, but I THINK it's a Browning Endurance. Does anyone hunt with an older bow, say mid-late 90's model?

The bow I have needs some work. The sights need to be replaced, and the string may need replacing at some point in the near future. I'm new to this (not hunting, but bow hunting), so I have only a vague idea of what I "need."

Any thoughts/tips/advice for someone with an older bow, looking to get into the sport? Some of these newer compound bows look like they've got more accessories/technology on them than my truck, so it's a little intimidating coming into it with a stripped down, late-model bow.

GADawg08

I hunted with a Browning Lightning, which i bought brand new in 2002 as a package deal from bass pro up until 2007 when i got a mathews switchback. Though that bow isnt quite as old as the one you are talking about, it was still a great bow in my opinion. Putting a new string on an older bow is one of the best things to do if you are looking into fixin one up. Most of the strings today are "pre-stretched." You should see a noticeable difference in the speed of your bow. Also, string silencers and limb savers are a great addition to any bow, especially older ones.

J-son30223

i hunt with a 90's model Bear Whitetail II. I had one in high school that I sold and then I ran up on another one a few years ago and thats what I hunt with. My father n law has one also.

Yes it is old, but from 10-30 yards I can hit a space the size of a baseball most of the time...which is good enough for me.

It is also the hardest shooting bow too. It was the only thing I could afford at the time. And unless I can run up on a really sweet deal, I will be hunting with it a few more years.

It's an old bow but trust me, it will serve its purpose.