Arrow selection opinions

kayaksteve

I just bought a relatively inexpensive production long bow (would like to build my own after dipping my toes for awhile). I like the idea of going “fully traditional” one piece wood bow/arrows but, besides shooting a recurve as a kid I have no experience in traditional archery. I have a decent understanding of arrows (practically zero in wood) I have no arrow building supplies/experience and nothing but the internet to go off of so far. Should I go ahead and dive into the world of wood arrows right away or should I get some aluminum or carbon arrows to get started then evolve from there?

35lbs at 28” draw. Think I’ll start with my arrows atleast 30” because my actual draw length is more like 29” I think.

earlthegoat2

I went aluminum and still use them for the recurve.

I went with them because, for me, they are easier to work with from a DIY perspective.

I cut them with a pipe cutter. I use hot melt glue for inserts which is reversible so I can tune my point weight back and forth. Arrow tuning is more finicky with non-center shot bows and I find this to be highly advantageous for traditional bows which are not typically center-shot.

Wood would be my second choice since they are also DIY friendly. They are a little more spine sensitive from arrow to arrow but are generally close enough. Cutting and adjusting tip weight is also DIY friendly. I’m not into finishing, cresting, or painting arrows (or anything) so I steer away from them.

I have a fletcher but really any arrow type fletches the same way.

kayaksteve

I went aluminum and still use them for the recurve.

I went with them because, for me, they are easier to work with from a DIY perspective.