Hunting dog vs Show dog

marshallknight

Read a real interesting article the other day that said dogs that compete well do not necessarily make good hunting dogs. The reasoning was that dogs with a lot of energy did well in shows (high jumps, fast retrieves, etc.) and the dog might have to much energy to sit still for extended periods of time in a blind. I have zero experience with competition, only hunting. Just curious what anyone who does both thinks. Maybe @flatsmaster or @BigPimpin

flatsmaster

I think there’s trained and untrained … most well trained have an off switch but I’ve been annoyed plenty of times as birds are circling with a dog whining and beside himself … control is key … my dog wants to retrieve but it’s at my pleasure … hunting a woodie hole or divers where there quicker to work it’s easier to get by but mallards in timber circling can try one so it’s a blessing to say place and know she’s not moving until I say her name … I’ve seen more high power dogs be exceptional in the field then not … kind of like a rope horse … I’d rather work the brake some then constantly have to kick … all that being said it’s important to keep up with obedience there whole life if you want them to stay sharp

marshallknight

Thanks flats. Article really made me curious, so I wanted to hear from someone with real life experience. Hunted with an older dog the last couple of years and he's as chill as any lab I've ever seen. He will sit dead still and only move his eyes until told otherwise, but he's getting older...so my buddy got a beautiful chocolate gyp. She's 7 months old and she minds pretty well (most of the time). They kept me entertained last time we dove hunted. :bounce:

mguthrie

**# 1 Fan**OHIO STATE**