My Last Bow

Redbow

That I will ever make more than likely. Its from a hickory stave that has been drying for 14 years or more so it should be dry. I cut it 58 inches and I have been working off and on with the stave for probably 3 years now. I'm finally getting it down a bit to where it will bend a little.

Now, working on the bow this morning in my shop I wondered what the Native Americans used to work the wood down on their bows when they needed to make a new one. I have the advantage of 4 wood rasps, a couple of electric sanders and sand paper. I can go to the hardware store and buy anything I need for staining and sealing the bow, need to get some true oil or maybe some linseed oil. I guess a sharp rock would work for working the bow down I once saw a man in South America in a documentary working on a new bow he was making using a wild boar's tusk to shave the wood off his bow and it worked just fine. They even showed him shooting his new bow when he had finished with it that thing looked very powerful the way it slung an arrow.

If I can get this thing to function without breaking I will probably give it to a friend of mine who lives up in Johnston County NC were I was born and raised. He is a few years younger than I am but I used to take him hunting with me when we were growing up and he has never forgotten the good times we had back then in the woods. I gotta make me a new tillering post for some reason I threw both of mine out one day when I was cleaning out my shop. I am gonna throw in some river cane arrows working on those as well and tip them with some arrowheads I made a few years ago. My neighbor has chickens and I have some feathers to fletch them with that she gave me when she clipped their wings to keep them inside her yard all right winged feathers so the arrows should fly pretty good. I don't want to get them mixed up with left wing feathers but I'm safe there I don't have any.