Need tips for using offset smoker?

DannyW

My smoker crapped out on me, again, and I got an offset firebox smoker at a reasonable price (free) to replace it. I'm new to the offset smoker game and could use your advice.

What kind of advice? Pretty much anything and everything you can offer from your hands-on experience. What kind of charcoal, what temperature and how to maintain it for long smokes, wood chips or chunks for smoke, etc. Mostly operational stuff for the smoker...I already know the meat prep and when to pull it.

What you got for me? It's going on it's inaugural voyage tomorrow and I want the results to at least be tolerable. Thanks in advance!

Whitefeather

Management Material
I use regular Kingsford charcoal to get it started. I use a charcoal chimney to light it. Once it gets hot I use pecan wood about 12” long and split to about 4” in diameter. I remove the bark from my wood. A piece that size keeps my smoker in the 235-250 range. I have to add a piece about every 45-60 minutes. You’re just gonna have to experiment with yours to see how the airflow. Best advice is get an accurate wireless thermometer with probe. Keep it on the rack with the meat. Don’t trust the one that’s on it. They aren’t accurate.

Wire Nut

Easier to raise the temp than bring it down. The damper on the smoke stack is your friend. You’ll figure out how much to open it to hold at 250 and leave it alone. I too use kingsford to get started in a chimney. After that wood.

sghoghunter

You can take two identical pits and they won’t cook or act the same. The best thing to do is experiment with it as much as you can. If it’s made out of thinner metal it won’t hold the heat as good as one made out of old propane tanks so you’ll have to keep an eye on it more often

GeorgiaGlockMan

I like 1/2 lunp charcoal and 1/2 wood in my smoker but it's not an offset.