Pine log hogs

Tom1957

I'm pretty new to hog hunting. I've only killed one. I know alot of posts have been about pine log hogs, but I'm going today to see if I can get one. I have found some very large areas full of fresh tracks, wallers, and such. Literally looks like they were on 4 wheelers lol. Not sure if they come in at night looking for food,( I presume they are). My questions are, do I sit amd wait in these areas, or should I spot and stalk? I can't find the trails where they come into these areas. Should I go up on the mountain behind these areas? Hunt the thickets? Everytime I go there, these areas are hit very hard and it's always fresh signs. The last time I went, I could literally smell them, I walk the creeks, so any help.would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

bany

look for thickets. Heavy brush, thick grass or other under growth. They like cane thickets and they lay beside big trees and logs. So just about everywhere ?. They're either laying down or eating on their way to eating and if you’re fortunate you'll hear them mating. So piece of cake right! Good luck and enjoy the woods!
spot and stalk, your in the right area. Gotta find them or them find you.

Tom1957

look for thickets. Heavy brush, thick grass or other under growth. They like cane thickets and they lay beside big trees and logs. So just about everywhere ?. They're either laying down or eating on their way to eating and if you’re fortunate you'll hear them mating. So piece of cake right! Good luck and enjoy the woods!
spot and stalk, your in the right area. Gotta find them or them find you.

Thank you so much for the information. I have never seen a place tore up like this before

antharper

“Well Rounded Outdoorsman MOD “
Staff member
If I’m seeing that much fresh sign I may would set up on it . Especially after a few weeks with not much pressure . I usually stay moving , but if I find the right spot I will sit , especially about dark. Good luck

across the river