Purchasing Land

Hawken2222

I am looking at a small tract of land to purchase for hunting. I have walked the land twice and I really like. On one side of it, it is not marked well at all and it’s hard to tell the where the property line is at on that side. The other boundaries were easy to to determine. So the only area I really am unsure about boundary wise is the one side of it. My question is should I get a survey before making an offer? I have asked the sellers real estate agent if there is an existing survey and he said he would check on it. In the mean time I thought I would post here and get advice. Also if the seller does have a survey, is there anyway to follow up on that to insure it’s accurate? I am told that a survey of a tract this size could run 3-5 grand? I would hate to drop that much money on the survey and have something fall through on the deal.
I hope these aren’t dumb questions I am asking. It’s just that this is my first time buying raw land and with it being such a big purchase I want to have my ducks in a row.
Thanks in advance guys for any feedback.

Dutch

AMERICAN WARRIOR
Yes. Getting a survey before buying will ensure no boundary headaches down the road.

When I had my property surveyed before buying, turned out the guy next to me had about 30 feet into the property fenced. He was not happy when he had to move it.

Horns

Seller should have the survey done. Try looking at Qpublic and see if you can find the tract

westcobbdog

No, don't spend the $$ BEFORE you go in contract, instead have either: A. a survey done inside your Due Diligence widow or B. Have a stip that stipulates the survey resolution period is not connected to your "free look" period and however much time it takes to complete a survey well that's how much is needed.
Also, don't assume the boundries! Those portions of the land that appear to be well defined may actually be a different persons land. I see this plenty.