She bear and cub

Clipper

A long time hunting buddy and I have been going to Cohutta bear hunting for the last 3 bow seasons. This week made year 4. I think the mountain hogs I saw the first year is what got me hooked. I really spend more time looking for hogs than I do bear, which was true this week too. We camp in a beautiful spot by a clear stream and go to sleep each night with the music of the water babbling over the rocks in our ears. This year there was a cub track in a mud hole by the trail to this camp. I fully expected us to get raided this year, but it didn't happen.
Last year I found a section of creek far off the road that was covered in hog sign and had been dying to get back there. I studied topo maps and thought I had found a closer way to get in there, this week I would give it a try. I got there Monday afternoon and headed out a faint trail that ran toward this spot, but spent most of the afternoon fighting my way thru Laurel thickets. Monday morning I decided to walk the ridges back there and finally made it after an hour and half walk.
After hitting the main creek and being delighted with the abundance of hog sign I turned south and had gone about 50 yards when I saw a set of black ears about the right height for a mature hog. I nocked an arrow and looked closer only to realize the black ears belonged to a bear cub. The cub had seen me by now and turned back down the trail. I looked beyond the cub and saw it's mother coming toward me. She looked to be about 150-175 lbs, maybe bigger - I haven't seen enough bears to be a good judge of size.