Solutions

Wilcox

Okay guys, I'm with most of you in being pretty upset with the complete and total lack of honesty with our leaders in Washington right now with regards to the gun control debate they've been pretending to have. I've only ever used my guns for hunting, target shooting, etc. and I have them available to defend from criminals or tyrants as well...like pretty much everybody else here.

Also, I haven't seen a politician yet lay out these facts in clear language:
1) Most murders in this country are done using handguns and generally involve ANOTHER form of crime(drugs, theft, etc.)
2) Most mass killings(including Aurora, Sandy Hook and Fort Hood) involved people who were mentally ill and had no business having a gun in the first place.

I have no issues w/ universal background checks as long as they don't involve creating a national database of gun owners. You could deal with it just like you do when ordering a gun online and having it shipped to your FFL dealer, and given where mobile technology is today, this should be pretty easy to handle at gun shows as well.

I also agree that checking mental health of buyers must be at the top of the list...not to mention holding mental health professionals accountable when they fail to report an issue.

Schools need to be equipped with ballistic glass/locks that would require significant time to penetrate(kind of like a fire-proof door or wall system) and have the option of having trained guards or staff who are armed on site. If you can slow down the criminal enough to get cops there, I'm okay with that, but we may as well accept that other psychos out there will try something similar and be ready to stop it. Yes, that will cost money meaning taxes, but guess what...I'm okay with it and it could be handled as a SPLOST, so a sales tax for a specific time to cover the costs of the upgrades.