Staking Dog Proof’s

Hawken2222

I am new to trapping and tomorrow I am going to set some DP’s for raccoons out on my ground tomorrow. I purchased some 18 inch 3/8 rebar stakes. My question is should I double stake these traps or is one stake sufficient? Thanks in advance for any answers. This is all new to me.

Doug B.

I am new to trapping and tomorrow I am going to set some DP’s for raccoons out on my ground tomorrow. I purchased some 18 inch 3/8 rebar stakes. My question is should I double stake these traps or is one stake sufficient? Thanks in advance for any answers. This is all new to me.
Welcome to the world of trapping!!!

With 18" stakes I would double stake them. Do you have swivels made for double staking? If not, how are you planning to double stake them?

You can also tie them off to a tree or large root with either chain or 1/8" cable.

Hawken2222

Welcome to the world of trapping!!!

With 18" stakes I would double stake them. Do you have swivels made for double staking? If not, how are you planning to double stake them?

You can also tie them off to a tree or large root with either chain or 1/8" cable.
I am not sure about the swivels? I assumed they were made for double staking. I will check though If I did double staking then I was going to pound them into the ground so they cross cross.

furtaker

I single stake for coons and sometimes coyotes with 30 inch rebar. I wouldn't trust a single 18 inch though, even for coons so I would double stake them too.

I've caught many coons by tying the trap off with a piece of chain like Doug said too. It is a little risky though with dog proofs because they can occasionally get wrapped up tight in something and push the spring down and get out of the trap. It doesn't happen too often though.

Doug B.

I stand corrected! Honestly I have never used rebar stakes with dp's for coon. Here where I trap some of the creekbanks and such is really soft and wouldn't trust just one rebar stake unless it was longer.