Whats a good cartridge for bear?

Alright guys, don't make too much fun of me for asking because this is my first year chasing black bears. I've had a few close calls with my recurve but couldn't finish the deal. I am debating weather I should buy a larger caliber rifle because I dont want to play hide and seek with a black bear. I have a 30-06 that I do most of my rifle hunting with as well as a .308. Should I try to find something bigger? I had a friend say that 375 h&h was a good cartridge for bear . What is yalls opinion on it? any and every bit of information is useful to me. Thanks

smoothie

If you are chasing bear especially Georgia black bear then your 30-06 is definitely enough rifle. 180 Remington core lokt round nose would devastate them

Barebowyer

Deer take a bullet or an arrow better than bears do.....even a 430 lber I shot with recurve went 25 yards and piled up......your deer rifle is more than enough.

Unicoidawg

Staff member
Theyre just black bears. Any normal deer caliber is fine.

This^^^^^ proper shot placement and they'll fold up like a lawn chair.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
Probably 90% of the bears killed in the NC mountains over the last hundred years have been killed with a .30-30, it's always been the "standard" bear caliber around here. So yeah, your '06 or .308 are either plenty of gun.

Buckman18

Shot placement on a bear is more important than caliber. Notice the vitals are a bit further back than on a deer. I have seen bears shot in the shoulder go a long long way before expiring.

H

Hammer Spank

People have been pulling up that diagram for a long time and it is dangerously innaccurate.

I fallow the gritty bowmen podcast and I saw Aron Snyder center punch one with his recurve and it only ran like 45 yards. so I would think that the vitals are further back than a deer.