Who has experience with dens? What do you think

I've found plenty of beds in the past but I'm still new with dens. They are much harder to find, for obvious reasons. From what I've seen, the biggest indicator of how active a winter bed is, is how many piles of scat are around. This log has 3.

Im in the middle of a big burn with several beds all around. There's an enormous amount of fall bear sign around the edges of this thicket.

At first glance I noticed this log has leaves stuffed in all the cracks and openings, sealing it off completely from the elements. There's even a pile of scat on top of the leaves in the crack. I don't see how this can just be a deposit from wind, there are sticks mixed in with the leaves making me think it is intentional.

Does anyone have any hands on experience with log dens, does this seem like common behavior? What do you think? I know the only way to know for sure is to hang a camera over it but I forgot to bring one on this trip I'll be back regardless to do that

Attachments

• IMG_20230211_143142.jpg
    IMG_20230211_143142.jpg
    464.7 KB · Views: 83
  • IMG_20230211_160856.jpg
    IMG_20230211_160856.jpg
    435.7 KB · Views: 81
  • IMG_20230211_143305.jpg
    IMG_20230211_143305.jpg
    310 KB · Views: 76
  • IMG_20230211_143257.jpg
    IMG_20230211_143257.jpg
    186 KB · Views: 81
  • IMG_20230211_143223.jpg
    IMG_20230211_143223.jpg
    263.9 KB · Views: 80
  • IMG_20230211_143207.jpg
    IMG_20230211_143207.jpg
    180.3 KB · Views: 81
  • IMG_20230211_143151.jpg
    IMG_20230211_143151.jpg
    444.6 KB · Views: 82

jbogg

I have no experience finding dens, but I am really interested to hear what your camera ends up telling you. Cool pics!