Using scents and scrapes

woody116

I am kinda new to this part of hunting, and only used a scent bomb once last year. Recently someone told me that I am missing out by not doing mock scrapes, so I am looking for more info. I have choosen not too in the past, honestly, cause I heard that it is an exact science, and if you do it wrong your done for.

So, here is my situation. Bow season starts this Friday. We have been warm and dry, although this last week it is really cooling off over night. Leaves are just starting to turn colors, and some trees are dropping them now.
Our rut is normally going around Nov 10th or about.

What scents would work for me now? Being new to this, how do I create a mock scrape?

reylamb

Woody, there is not much that I can offer, I do not use scents or make mock scrapes. I do not want to alert the deer to anything being in the area, so I go scent free.

I will be heading up that way in November, although in the SW part of the state hunting public land down there. Good luck this weekend.

leadoff

GONetwork Member
I start using doe-in-heat as a cover scent around late October or early November. I usually just pour a little on my boots before walking in and then pour some around the my stand location when I am in. I have had pretty good success doing this over the years. I figured a you are killing two birds with one stone, cover and attractant.