Bad Box of Core-Lokt??

gahunter12

Never had a problem with my reloads. I also never had a problem with Federal Premium, and. Hornady ammo. I have seen numerous problems with the cheapo Rem ammo going bang over the last 2 years.

DeoVindice

I have never personally had a problem with Core Lokt ammo. I used it for years and took a slew of deer with them, although that was years ago. BUT, I was hunting with a friend who missed the buck of a lifetime using Core Lokt. Good indention in the primer, no bang. He was absolutely sick about it. Almost gave up hunting because of it...I thought he was exaggerating about the buck until it showed up on our trail cams. If I say how big this buck was you probably won't believe it, but I will say it was big. Yep, sounds like deer camp story telling but it happened. I've been using Federal for the past 10-15 years. Started using them almost by accident. Never a problem. Would not change a thing.

Stroker

Haven't shot Core Lokts for years. Load my own or buy the Hornady Customs. Bought two boxes of Hornady American Whitetails in .243 last year and had four misfires out of one box. Saved the other box for sighting in new optics.

tcward

The only factory ammo I have had problems with in my 40 years of hunting have been Remington Corelok. 2 different calibers mind you. IMO Remington primers are junk...

Geffellz18

Had this happen two seasons ago with core lokts. Pretty partial to them, but did get a bad box for sure.

Had one go click on me in the stand. Luckily, I was able to chamber a new round real quick a killed a decent 6pt.

Found misfired round on the ground the next morning and it had a good indention in the primer. Dad used same box to sight his new gun in a day or two later and 3 rounds failed to discharge.

Semi-Pro

Full-Pro
I have had 2 misfires on my last two hunting trips with two types of Federal ammo. Bolt action rifle, I'm stumped as to what to do I may send it back to the factory.