Deer hunting with a 12 gauge shotgun

reflexman

Snake Dodger
My son bought a benelli super nova shotgun from my oldest boy for turkey hunting. He would also like to use it for deer hunting it has a choke i believe also. Any suggestions on ammo thanks. I use to dove hunt when i was a kid but now only use crossbow or 270 for hunting Im no shotgun expert thats for sure. So for you shotgun guys n gals any info I can pass along to him. Hes an experienced hunter but has always used a crossbow to this point.

RamblinWreck88

Useles Billy ain’t got nothing on ME !
Those SuperNovas come standard with Improved Cylinder, Modified, and Full chokes, which will be marked accordingly. I'd start with some Federal and Remington rifled slugs and see how they group out of the Improved Cylinder choke. If that choke is missing, a factory flush Cylinder or Improved Cylinder choke is pretty easy to come by.

For reference, my brother put a rifled choke on his SuperNova and gets cue-ball sized groups @50 yards w/ Remington slugger rifled slugs. Not sure how much the rifled choke helps or if at all, and he could probably tighten those groups up with a better rest.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
What RR88 said^^, or some #1 buckshot.

Dutch

AMERICAN WARRIOR
Buckkicker XFull choke and 00 buck.

With a factory modified choke try #1 buck

Biggest thing is pattern the loads to see what the shotgun patterns best

Deerhead

Grew up hunting deer with a 12 ga and 00 buck. I did not buy a rifle until I was an adult. The effective range for 0 or 00 buck shot is 40 yards. If you want more range than a rifled choke and slugs will extend your effective range to 100 yds.

Hillbilly stalker

Just remember” RIFLED” slugs in a smooth bore….sabots are a wast of money in it. A rifled choke would change that, you could shoot either.

furtaker