Ghost peppers

patriot15joe

This is my first year growing ghost peppers and Carolina reapers. Looking for ideas of what to use them for now that they are starting to turn. I like spicy salsas. Also wondered about drying them to grind into powder.

Attachments

• IMG_1939.jpeg
    IMG_1939.jpeg
    273 KB · Views: 28

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
Well, the folks in India use them to keep elephants out of their fields instead of eating. I love spicy food, but anything that hot is useless, IMO. And literally dangerous.

tr21

man if your going to grind them be sure to use a respirator. I used to grow and grind habaneros to put on our beef jerky, you wont do it but once without one !

GeorgiaBob

Your use will depend on how you react to the burn. I am not really fond of the taste of Ghost peppers. They have an earthy herb like taste to me. But if I use the skins (without the seeds) chopped fine, in lieu of thyme or oregano, in stews or sauces it adds a real snap to the flavor.

Reapers have an almost sweet taste to me. I can't eat more than one at a time (anymore). They are a lot to take in. If you like spicy additions to Italian and TexMex, dry the NC Reaper seeds and mix them in with the dried pepper seeds you sprinkle on pizza. I wouldn't mix stronger than 10% reaper and even then expect a ZZZZIIIINNNGGGG. Including Reapers with Jalapenos in salsas and pico is a good way to bump the wow. I use very little NC Reaper maybe one or two in a pint of salsa, along with 20 or more Jalapenos. I absolutely warn people before serving!

Geffellz18

Don’t think I’d be up for anything anywhere near that hot!
Just took a taste of scotch bonnet sauce last week and that was a tolerable heat, but noticeably hotter than habanero’s.
Anything hotter than those would definitely be overkill IMO.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member
Don’t think I’d be up for anything anywhere near that hot!