Non target trap question

Luv2Bowhnt

ok guys so I'm a complete rookie trapper....just getting my feet wet. I don't have a terrible coyote problem but I've started seeing more sign lately and hope to catch some to help our fawns. I only have 3 traps currently set and they've only been out a few days. My question and it may be a dumb one but is there any concern with catching a deer or a turkey in a leg hold trap?? My traps are MB 550's. I certainly hope that doesn't happen but I do know that where I have the traps currently located, there are deer and turkeys in the immediate area every day. Thanks guys and I hope to post a picture soon of my first catch.

Doug B.

You won't hold a deer in an MB 550. They will pull out after the first jump or two.

As soon as you make a good set, they will find a way to step all over it though.
That's for sure! I've had several step in my MB550's. When I get there though the trap is tripped and the chain is straight out with the empty trap on the end. The way a deer's foot is shaped they will pull right out. I have never caught a turkey, I would guess that would be very rare.

buckpasser

Turkey catching is a real concern. Pan tension should be high enough from the factory on a 550 to avoid most turkeys, but it CAN happen. As difficult as it is, I pass on spots that are loaded with turkey tracks. Don’t waste any time worrying about deer. I had a buck step on a 550 night before last, trip it, get out, then sniff it for about ten minutes trying to figure out what happened (cell cam).

I couldn’t tell what I had in a trap today on can so I went to it at lunch break and it was a gopher tortoise that had wallowed all over my set after morning check. He wasn’t caught, but I added another species to the pain in the butt list!

antharper

“Well Rounded Outdoorsman MOD “
Staff member
I had a friend caught a gobbler years ago . He said his leg was broken , he didn’t put it on a forum or Facebook . He made turkey nuggets out of him .

furtaker