Should I spray or just plow and plant?

lildorris00

Iv got weedy food plots that I didn’t spray early this summer so they’ve gotten out of control. Iv cut them a few times. My question is should I spray and give it two weeks and spray again (glyphosate ) and then plant or should I just turn it all under and plant and not worry about spraying ?

doomtrpr_z71

Well glyphosate is substantially cheaper than diesel fuel, if you spray and wait 2 weeks there should be no need to spray again. In my turning it under is just a temporary solution that bites you later after you have planted.

Ajohnson0587

I'm not very experienced, but for the last 3yrs I've mowed, chisel plowed to break the ground, rotor-till, put seed & fertilizer down, and cover with rotor-tiller. Results have been great, also these are not big food plots, 1/4ac or less.

Triple C

Mow...spray...plant.

We no longer spray but when we did, it was so much easier planting in to dead thatch than planting in to growing matter with live roots.

Now use an 8' Firminator and simply plant right into whatever is still standing come late September to early October. No longer even mow during the summer.

If your a tightwad like me, you Plow (rototill) and plant.

We got too much money tied up in everything to be wasting money on spray. Tried spraying and there was no difference, so to me it was a waste of money.