Missed yet again with the bow.

Waddams

Took a guy out that is from Africa, hunted Africa, but never deer in America today. Went to my favorite WMA, was planning on a stroll thru the woods to point out sign and give him some pointers to help him get started.

I told him up front I'm not a great hunter. I can read a map and aerial, see the features come together, and know where to go start looking to find sign, but I'm self taught with the help of YT and GON, I've got a long way to go.

I'm not expecting to see deer, much less have a shot opportunity. Two guys, talking away quietly, etc. Of course, very early we encounter a big doe. I decide to try to stalk up on the ground and try a shot. It went over her. She jumped, ran a little but stopped and then slowly moved off. I wasn't able to stalk up for a 2nd chance.

Pretty sure I need to invest in a rangefinder. I have the hardest time judging range. She's the 4th or 5th ground deer I've missed with a bow. I can hit stuff good at a 3D range - when I know the range from the shooting sticks. I gotta get a way to know the range better.

Was a great day otherwise, kinda hot, but we logged about 4 miles total. Found fresh rubs, scrapes, etc. Followed the sign to intersections, bedding, food. Saw a few more deer at distance but no more shot chances.

Only thing that would make it a better day is to have fresh venison to split with him.

WOODIE13

2023 TURKEY CHALLENGE 1st place Team
Took a guy out that is from Africa, hunted Africa, but never deer in America today. Went to my favorite WMA, was planning on a stroll thru the woods to point out sign and give him some pointers to help him get started.

I told him up front I'm not a great hunter. I can read a map and aerial, see the features come together, and know where to go start looking to find sign, but I'm self taught with the help of YT and GON, I've got a long way to go.