New bow hunter here

Been lurking for awhile,thought I'd join up finally. This is my first time deer hunting. My coworkers been bow hunting for years and got me into it this year. I've been practicing since January and am comfortable shooting up to 45-50 yds. I'm lucky to have a coworker letting me hunt his place in Brooks County. I've also been researching WMAs and hunted River Creek 4 days last week. Saw 3 does but stayed out of range (80 yds). I enjoyed it and learned alot despite not getting a deer. I know I've just scratched the surface and have alot to learn still. At 49,I'm seeing if old dogs can learn new tricks. We have a great bow shop here in Valdosta that's been great getting me set up with info and gear. Was lucky enough to pick up a used Mathews Triax. Hope to get some deer soon....need deer sausage for chili this winter lol.

ddd-shooter

Been lurking for awhile,thought I'd join up finally. This is my first time deer hunting. My coworkers been bow hunting for years and got me into it this year. I've been practicing since January and am comfortable shooting up to 45-50 yds. I'm lucky to have a coworker letting me hunt his place in Brooks County. I've also been researching WMAs and hunted River Creek 4 days last week. Saw 3 does but stayed out of range (80 yds). I enjoyed it and learned alot despite not getting a deer. I know I've just scratched the surface and have alot to learn still. At 49,I'm seeing if old dogs can learn new tricks. We have a great bow shop here in Valdosta that's been great getting me set up with info and gear. Was lucky enough to pick up a used Mathews Triax. Hope to get some deer soon....need deer sausage for chili this winter lol.
Welcome! But please don't shot at a deer at over 30ish yards. At least that's what I tell all the people I've mentored at first. Too much can go wrong with a live animal.
In bow hunting, seeing deer is a great way to define success as a new hunter! Well done

Jim Thompson

Live From The Tree