CFE 223 and .308

The Rodney

I’m new to reloading… All my gear got in last week and I made a few loads for my 308. As this was the only powder available this is what I bought and three kinds of 168 grain bullets. Sierra TMK, Hornady SST, and Hornady Match BTHP.
I’ve done some reading and it seems… CFE 223 on a 90° day in the sun is asking for some overpressure LOL… Only blew out one primer but I stoped shooting a particular load after two rounds in a row made the bolt hard to open. Anyhow, just wondering if anyone had any experience with this powder and .308. I’m shooting a Howa 1500, 20 inch barrel, 1:10.
New to reloading but not new to shooting I’ve been doing that 35 years and 4 inch groups at 100 yards seems a little ridiculous. Shooting 2 1/2 and 3 inch groups with factory loads. I installed the scope myself so I know that’s up to snuff so I checked the action screws, don’t know why I didn’t do that before, and they were both around 20 pounds I tightened the front to 30 and the rear to 50. Inch pounds of course. Groups did tighten up a little bit but I think I’m gonna go up to 65 inch pounds and see if the groups get tighter with factory loads. Anyone shoot a Howa? No I’m not blaming the gun (though 20 inch pounds on action screws is just asking for trouble) I just wanna make sure I’ve eliminated all the other possibilities so I can freely blame myself. It’s been along time since I got serious trigger time with a high-powered rifle so I know I have to work on me. These rifles are reputed to shoot very well certainly MOA, In fact, I’m more than capable of MOA at 100 yards so I’m perplexed.

Jester896

Senior Clown
If your blowing primers and the bolt is hard to lift your load it too hot.

Would you care to share your load? 46.6-49.0gr is Hodgdon's info on a Sierra 168gr HPBT. I imagine that will be close for the 168gr TMK too.

throw those 3 pieces of brass away

do you have a loading manual for either of those?

Nimrod71