Scope help

dwhee87

GON Political Forum Scientific Studies Poster
So....

I've been hunting with a Savage 110 7mm Rem Mag for 15 years. Simmons 6-18x40 scope. It has served me well, and I have successfully taken deer out to 300 yards. Never shot/practiced beyond that. Very happy with it...1-inch groups (seated, off a bench/bags) at 100 yds, and pretty consistent 2-inch groups at 200 yds.

Planning a NM elk hunt this fall, and GF got me a Vortex Crossfire 6x24x50, as everything I've read said I should be ready to shoot out to 400 yds, and I'm thinking the extra magnification will certainly help.

Due to the increase from 40 to 50mm objective lens, I had to switch out to some Vortex Pro Series 'high' mounts, for the scope to clear the barrel and action. Installed on my weaver rails, and torqued to factory settings.

Initial trip to the range, sighted in at 100 yds, and was able to get about a 2-inch group (using both factory Federal accushock 150 gr SP, and hand loaded Hornady Interlock 154 gr SPs).

Stepped out to 200 yds, and my group goes to 6-8 inches, and is very scattered. My initial thought was poor/inconsistent cheek weld, so I ordered a Beartooth Comb raising kit, and put on a 3/8-inch pad. That gave me a very consistent and quick full-scope acquisition.... back to the range.

Went to a friends place that allowed me to set up targets at 100, 200, 300 and 400 yds.

100 yds - 1.5 inch groups (factory & hand load)
200 yds - 7-8 inch groups
300 yds - couldn't land a shot on a 12-inch splatter target
400 yds - Hit an 18-inch circle splatter target, but with about an 12-inch spread (one hit at 3 o'clock, right on edge of target, one hit at 5 o'clock, right on edge of target.

At this point, I reached out to Vortex tech support. Only other suggestion they had was to check the torque on the action screws. Those were just under spec, but barely.

I mailed the scope back to Vortex to see if there's something wrong with it, or what...