Debate

buckpasser

There is nowhere on the interweb I’d rather be for outdoors information than the GON forum. That said, there seem to be less new threads that come up with topics not already covered at length. I post less questions these days because the search feature normally has several threads for anything you might be interested in. For example, my boss is interested in the possibility of adding cotton seed to our deer feeding program. There have been several threads with good info on that, so I studied up without asking for new opinions.

What bothers me is how quickly differing opinions on any new topic seem to immediately draw teams of people to be offended that the GON brotherhood isn’t like minded in every single way. Today there was even a (mostly absent) member that requested to be deleted because apparently he was so deeply offended about a long thread that had “negativity”. I know I do my fair share of pot stirring, but it’s not to be offensive. It’s to spark debate (and sometimes to entertain, hopefully). In my view there is no better way to hear others opinions and grow a more grounded version of your own, than to read a differing point of view. When we get a new topic, or a “current event” so to speak, I’m glad it’s there. I, for one, don’t mind being called out. Over the years I’ve discussed some differences with members such as @NCHillbilly, @across the river and @Spotlite, and guess what, I’ve gained from their perspectives that opposed mine. They stood their ground on the topic and for that I respect them.

Anyway, my apologies for the rant! I hope this forum has many more years of pleasure to provide us all, with great members and great information.

NCHillbilly

Administrator
Staff member