Newbie boat questions

rlsmallwood

:deadhorse: Yes, I know, but I searched I swear.

So... Just starting to look into a fishing boat for myself and my two twin boys (age 11). I am not new to boating (sailor for many years), and I'm not new to fishing (fly fishing for many years), but I am new to fishing boats.

As most first-time potential boat owners, I am still naive enough to hold onto the hope that if I find just the right boat, I can have a one-size-fits-all solution that will provide a lifetime of fishing without breaking the bank.

That said, the 47 years spent on this planet tells me I'm probably in for a rude awakening.

Basically, I would like something that:

• Allows me to fish electric-only lakes
  • Allows me to fish really small electric-only lakes (like Conasauga and Winfield Scott).
  • Fish the Larger lakes during non-peak hours (ok, maybe during peak times once in a while)
  • Run to the coast for some inshore fishing for reds, flounder, trout etc.
  • Is comfortable for 1 large man and two boys (who will be two large men before I know it I'm sure) to hang out in all day.
  • That doesn't need 15 batteries for a weekend worth of fishing

Things it does NOT have to do:

• Go really fast
  • Pull Tubers or Skiers
  • Win fishing tournaments
  • Impress the neighbors

So, doing the natural progression from canoe to inflatable to Jon Boat to Skiff to V-hull etc., I think I've settled on something like a 16 foot Carolina Skiff but I'm not sure about a couple of things and couldn't really find any answers here after reading through a s*** ton of old threads.

I'm pretty sure something like that would be perfect for the coast. Probably OK for Lanier on the weekends with a little common sense. Probably great for other large lakes or Lanier in winter and week days, but what about the electric-only angle?

• Is it practical to remove the motor from a boat that size every time you want to take it to an electric-only lake?