rattling

olroy

i may be trying to hard but out of 6 diffrent times and locations i have only seen on buck 5 pointer,,

is this about common results?
i really like rattling and again this is my first year rattling and i'm probably making plenty of mistakes.

Jeff Raines

I've went days with no response,then like a light switch,they turn on and come in.I've never had one come running,ya just look around and there's a deer standing there looking right at you.

I've only heard 1 deer fight and it was really loud.I couldn't make that much racket

Junebug

Olroy

As with anything with deer hunting, nothing works all the time. Keep it up. Even though you've only seen one that responded, you already made it over the first hurdle...trying it and gaining some confidence.

You mentioned you've only SEEN one 5-point...don't assume others haven't responded though. The very first buck I rattled in (after lots of trying) I saw as he was LEAVING. No telling where he came from, how long he stayed there, and if he saw or smelled me, or both.

You may try putting a little more focus on your setup. If you can, rattle where you can see downwind a good ways, or where your downwind side is protected by an opening (field, road, powerline). Rattle in a location where HE HAS TO show himself if he wants to see or smell who's fighting in his neighborhood.

One more thing...breakup your rattling sequence with short spells of silence...like the bucks are stopping for a few seconds to take a breather, gain leverage, or just standing there pushing on each other. During those little breaks (2 or 3 seconds) LISTEN for an approaching deer breaking sticks, rustling leaves, water splashing, etc.

cowboyron

Just a rattling story