Have you lost trapped Animals to Coyotes?

sleepr71

Just curious if any of you have lost other(trapped) animals to Coyotes? If so,is it common? I’m not so worried about Furbearers..as I am a neighbors curious dog,or cat. I have about 75 acres of clearcut(that has a few houses about 150 yds through the woods) that we are about to flatten & prep to replant early next year..and Yotes love to travel the perimeter of it?

Last edited:

Doug B.

I caught a bobcat last year the first night of trapping season. It was dead when I got there that morning and the tracks in the plowed dirt showed that a pack of coyotes had killed it. That's the only thing I have had killed by them but I would guess that a single coyote wouldn't kill a dog in a trap but a pack might.

sportsman94

I’ve been trapping for about 10 years and catch pretty small numbers. Most of my trapping is done in farm country. The guy who taught me to trap had a grey fox killed on his line one of the first times I checked with him. I have had two catches killed by coyotes that I can think of. This grey fox and a bobcat. I’ve had a couple other critters attacked in the traps, but can’t say for sure it was a coyote those times. All that being said, it doesn’t seem to be too common, but it can and does happen.

Attachments

• F1AEDD9C-7619-4EA7-930F-21D19DAC0DE3.jpeg
    F1AEDD9C-7619-4EA7-930F-21D19DAC0DE3.jpeg
    348.5 KB · Views: 65

buckpasser

I’ve had coyotes attack the neighbor’s bull dog when he was caught deep within the plantation in a foothold. Captured it all on cell cam. The dog somehow pulled out unscathed to be caught again later. He apparently howled nonstop drawing them in. No problems with any other catches. I have had bobcats drag out conibear caught beavers.

I've got a horror story.

Feral cat caught in a foothold. I'm being paid to catch the ferals. I'm not on site.
"Domestic" dog attacks and kills cat. Then disappears.
Client's employee calls AC instead of me as instructed.