HOW LONG TO YOUR HUNTING PROPERTY

psedna

UAEC
I live almost two hours from the family private property. I cant do same day there and back trips anymore, esp after hunting all day.

If it was only an hour one way, I could do that roundtrip in a day and hunt all day. Bu long cold hard facts are that means getting up at 3:45 to get in stand by six am, and ten not getting homes til say 8:00 pm at the earliest. Too much for late sixties, and I think being on the road at four am is nuts and probably not real safe.

So we usually plan at least a two day trip, going to retire when I am ninety and then I can hunt when I want to...

Even cheap hunter motels, and eating out more also (not counting corn bill lol), can really add up...

I may turn into a mid day and afternoon hunter before too long... And I have been doing it bow only for over 25/30 years.

operi LIVE TWO

Milkman

Deer Farmer Moderator
Staff member
If it’s family owned private property why not put a camper or shack to stay in?

Lots of ideas here

Mexican Squealer

GA farm is 4 hours, SC farm is 2 hours. Got a lodge at each and that has made things a whole lot mo better. I do go to my SC place a whole lot more than my GA farm though.

2 1/2 hours one way for me. Have camper and the amenities there so that’s nice.. working 60 to 70 hours a week then get off and drive there and back sure takes its toll on you..

GeorgiaGlockMan

1.25 hrs to my property tops.

I use to do back and forth same day. A nap in the climber helped.

Now I am working on a little cabin. Staying in there more than working on it during deer season tho.

I usually go out late the night before, sleep in the shack till 6 am, hunt a half or whole day and usually go home that night. Not hard at all.

It's like heaven if I can stay 2 nights in a row.

Hawken2222

45 minutes to my lease in Jasper County and a hour and fifteen minutes to the ground I own in Hancock

roscoe54

7-1/2 hours from Fl to my Ga cabin.
I used to stay 2 weeks at a time.