“Wanna go elk hunting…?!”

MoeBirds

....When I lived on the east coast I’d sit there for hours reading Field and Stream, Outdoor Life, and other hunting pubs fascinated by the articles on elk hunting; complete with how to pursue them in RUT, track them in snow, and even recipes on how to prepare them for the plate. I’d stare at the photographs of breathtaking scenery, the string of pack mules, hard sided tents, and monster racks; then remember I was unemployed, a total loser, and casually flip the page knowing… ‘I’d never be able to afford going on an elk hunt’:(?

…Now here I am in Montana, I’m a resident, its hunting season, I have a tag, and I still can’t afford to go on an elk hunt, but am anyways; so wish me luck!?...:cool:
……………………..

I did very little research I must admit, so this might be a bust; convinced it would never really happen and instead simply pointed my truck in the direction of public ground. Oh sure I’ve got a bull elk tag for the area and have booked a small cabin for the duration of ‘Opening-Weekend’ (Oct 25th*), but so has everyone else in the state, or so it appears?

(*Big-game seasons start on Sundays up here, odd as that seems?)

This is ‘public-land hunting’ and nothing more or less; ‘The Gravelly Region’, just west of West Yellowstone, begins mere feet behind the cabin and heads due west into Idaho. The hunters of Montana; ‘locals’, non residents, and the grizzly bears, will apparently be my ‘partners’ for the next week or so I’m told, though there’s not likely a one of them ‘who will be essentially unemployed and homeless following their trip’, nor knowing so while doing it; which adds a bit of adventure I really could do without:(?

…Yup, the job at the Big Horn Fly Shop is over, I’m about busted once again, and though I have no home to speak of; I intend on killing me a bull elk and a monster mule deer, before I even try to find a new place to live…. ‘How’s that for stupid???’:biggrin2: