Disappointing day at the range with hand loads.

aaronward9

I know we all have them, but today was rough! I took 4 guns total. 3 guns I got nowhere with and 1 gun shot factory ammo best!

I am still somewhat new to loading, so I'm all ears about different ways to test/develop/fine tune loads. Here is what I'm loading for:

1) Rem 700 CDL Stainless/fluted 300 WSM. Has been glass bedded also. I have IMR 4064, IMR 4350, Varget, and IMR 7828. I have 168 Berger VLD, 150 Nosler BT's, 180 gr Nosler Accubonds, and 168 gr Barnes TTSX. Have once fired federal brass

2) Tikka T3 Lite stainless/laminate in 300 WSM with same conponents available above. Have once fired Federal brass.

3) Rem 700 BDL 308 with 20.5" fluted stainless bbl and sitting in a hogue pillar/glass bedded stock. Also have same components available above. Have Lake City brass that is fully prepped to load.

4) Ruger M77 Compact Stainless laminate 7-08 with 16.5" bbl. Have all powders listed above and only bullets I have are 139 gr Hornady SST. Have 308 Rem brass necked down for these. I shot factory 140 gr Winchester ballistic silvertips at .75" today.

I am open to suggestions on some good combos for what I have. I don't mind to get a few new things, but I really don't want to go buy 4 new powders and 5 boxes of bullets!

Any help you guys can offer? All is appreciated and feel free to chime in on your results with factory ammo if you have these guns. Thanks!

mattech

Deranged Throat-Puncher
I'm new to reloading to, but I would concentrate on one gun, and go from there.

fishtail

Just so I don't have to dig and suppose, please list the barrel lengths on #1 and #2.
On #3 and #4 don't use IMR4350 and IMR7828. Varget and IMR4064 should do great and #3 should produce excellent grouping at 308 velocities with the 150gr Nosler Ballistic Tips.
Seating the bullets to the rifling will improve accuracy on all of these but I would first work on the load combinations.

GAHUNTER60