Mossberg 835 good for turkey??

Mossy0ak270

I'm new to turkey hunting and was considering this gun. It's a 835 12 ga with a 26" barrel in camo. They have it at wal-mart pretty cheap. I have a 835 Ulti-Mag in 28". I like the gun, but is this "Turkey Special" they have a good gun?

sniper13

Yep

:shoot:
Doesn't hurt me Quite as much as it does the bird. close though with the 3 1/2"shells.

Slug-Gunner

Why buy a new 835 Ulti-Mag?

Mossy0ak270 said:
I'm new to turkey hunting and was considering this gun. It's a 835 12 ga with a 26" barrel in camo. They have it at wal-mart pretty cheap. I have a 835 Ulti-Mag in 28". I like the gun, but is this "Turkey Special" they have a good gun?

Since you already have a 12 ga 835 Ulti-Mag /w 28" bbl, you don't need to buy a WHOLE NEW 835 just to go turkey hunting. You actually have TWO options:
(I would recommend DOING BOTH!)

1) Just buy either the standard 835 Ulti-Mag "Ulti-Full Turkey Choke" or the Tru-Glo Turkey Choke for your current 835.
Both pattern real good out of my 835 Ulti-Mag.

2) Either buy the Tru-Glo Hi-Viz sights that stick/clamp on to the ventilated rib of your current 835 Ulti-Mag or put either a "Red Dot" or a scope like either the Simmons Pro Diamond 1.5-5x32 or Bushnell Trophy 1.75-4.5x 32 on it.
The 835 Ulti-Mag is already "drilled & tapped" for scope mounts.

-----------------------------------------------------------

I was going to give a THIRD option of just buying the Camo "Turkey Special" bbl for your gun, but they don't offer it. Only the 28" length Vent-rib model (which you already have).
-----------------------------------------------------------

Since the barrels for the 835 Ulti-Mag are interchangeable, you can convert your gun to a "rifled slug barrel" for deer hunting by just buying the appropriate barrel shown below:
(This is a list of all the barrels from the web site.)
http://www.mossberg.com/acatalog/pricebarrels.htm

835® ULTI-MAG® BARRELS
(handle 2 3/4", 3" and 3 1/2" shells)