FSU pays "Victim" Different Perspective

Hunting Teacher

I read all the "FSU evil, girl innocent" posts you all blathered on about.
Also saw how much it would cost FSU to continue the on going lawyers battles and legal shenanigans. It looked like it was going to be about 4.3 mill so far and who knows how much for FSU to continue. The institution took the "cheap" way out. The other side is the one that agreed to stop the charges.
More importantly I was thinking to myself if something terrible had happened to me, would I accept " blood money" and drop my fight with the institution that had done me so wrong.
I decided I'm not a woman so it is utterly unfair of me to decide what I would or would not do in a "rape" situation. I do have three daughters and know what I would have told them to do with their money if my daughter had been raped!!
Being a teacher I am surrounded by women who mostly couldn't give a flip less about college football. I decided to get their thoughts on the whole thing. I began filling them in on the situation in general if they didn't know. No making one side better than the other. Just the facts as people know. Then some of the he said, she said stuff.
I asked about 12 women from 22 to about 70. EVERY one of them said the idea that they would accept money in any way shape or form because they had been raped was unimaginable. I said what about to punish the institution, or pay lawyer bills because it looked like you might not win? The answers were NO,NO and """" No!!!
If you think I was somehow able to sway these women to a certain opinion one way or the other by what I said, you don't know women very well!! Most felt it said all they needed to know about the "victim," or at least her family.